Vegan Strawberry Ice Cream (No Ice Cream Makers Required!)

Vegan Roasted Strawberry Ice Cream

So, I’ve been meaning to post about about a great day off I had a little while ago. It went a little something like this:

  1. Go to the Saatchi Gallery – the exhibition on Korean art was amazing!
  2. Prune & stake tomatoes in the garden (and nibble on a few raspberries too!)
  3. Relax in the park while listening to my favourite podcast, This American Life
  4. Make some Roasted Strawberry & Rosemary “ice cream.” …and the best part (well two things really): it’s made with coconut milk, so it’s dairy free, and no ice cream machines are necessary!

Lately, I’ve been pinning a lot of ice cream recipes that use coconut milk; in the past year or so, I’ve cut down a lot on the amount of dairy I eat, plus coconut milk is so creamy, delicious and healthy that it seems like the perfect base for a dairy free ice cream. Unfortunately, I do not have an ice cream maker – which tends to make it difficult to make ice cream. Katie, over at KatieDid, has just the same sentiments about the dreaded step in an ice cream recipe – the one that says “freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.” What about those of us who don’t have an ice cream machine? Luckily, Katie figured out a way for us frozen desert lovers to overcome the ice cream maker conundrum – use your food processor!

Another hurdle for me in this recipe is the canned coconut milk; because I have some tin poisoning, I need to avoid eating canned food. I must admit, when I first spotted this recipe, it was too tempting (and easy) to take the time to make my own coconut milk, so I bought a can instead. In the future, however, I’d love to make my own coconut milk, which you can either do with fresh coconut (if you’re feeling strong!), or with frozen or desiccated coconut.

Vegan Roasted Strawberry Ice Cream

Head on over to KatieDid to find the recipe for Roasted Strawberry and Rosemary Ice Cream. It’s perfect to eat on a sunny day off (even if the temperature is starting to drop as Fall arrives); if you want a frozen-themed podcast to listen to while eating your homemade strawberry ice cream, my I suggest my favourite-ever This American Life episode about cryonics gone wrong: Mistakes were Made. (Seriously the craziest story ever!)

A couple notes on how I altered the recipe:

  • I made 1.5 times the amount, so I could use a whole can of coconut milk, and added a few more strawberries in at the end (about 450g total, which would be roughly 2 small pints).
  • I also added a large drizzle of agave nectar to sweeten it slightly.
  • My blender did not like crushing up the ice cream, so a food processor may be necessary unless you have a beast like the Vitamix!
  • For eating the leftovers, I find it best to defrost the ice cream slightly and then give it a good stir to make it soft and creamy again.
  • For another ice cream machine-free technique to make ice cream, check out this great vegan Rosemary & Plum Ice Cream recipe
8 thoughts on “Vegan Strawberry Ice Cream (No Ice Cream Makers Required!)

  1. Katie Did’s site is down….. you don’t by chance have her Roasted Strawberry Ice Cream recipe written down anywhere?

  2. Love the idea of ice cream without the ice cream maker. I usually freeze bananas and then pop them in my blender with all sorts of fresh fruit, it makes a sort of ice cream that is quick and dairy free. But my family is tired of my faux ice cream so I’m heading over to check out the recipe. Sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

