Sweet & Salty Bars

Courtesy of The Little Red House

Hi everyone, sorry it has been so long since my last post! I have had a really busy couple of weeks, so it’s taken me a little longer to get my next recipe together. In the meantime, I wanted to share a recipe that I can’t wait to try: Sweet and Salty Bars. It’s from one of my new favourite blogs, The Little Red House. The woman who writes it is also using food as a way to treat Lyme Disease, and the blog has lots of really great whole foods recipes that are photographed beautifully. “We have learned that sometimes the things we need to help our bodies heal, grow, and be healthy, can be found simply in the grocery store, or even growing in our backyard” – I couldn’t agree more! She and I have a lot of similar thoughts about food and health, and I can’t wait to read more of her blog.

Courtesy of The Little Red House

What I love about this recipe is that it uses dates to bind the bars together; oftentimes granola bars and the like are bound together with butter or loads of sugar syrups; while these DO have sugar, dates naturally sweeten these bars as well as hold them together. Packed with protein and made with healthy fats and fruit sugars, they look like they will make a great afternoon snack!

Find the recipe for Sweet and Salty Bars here. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

